Good Vibes. Unit 1. Topic Discussion Activities. 1. Happiness Boosters. Small Group Discussion. Supporting Your Opinion

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Good Vibes. Unit 1. Topic Discussion Activities. 1. Happiness Boosters. Small Group Discussion. Supporting Your Opinion"

Transcription

1 Unit 1 Good Vibes Topic Discussion Activities 1. Happiness Boosters Small Group Discussion From the following list, which type of activity would you recommend to change a friend s sad mood? watching an old movie listening to your favorite song talking to a friend watching TV talking to someone in your family writing about your feelings in a diary or journal going shopping reading a book playing a sport going out for a walk by yourself Supporting Your Opinion Why would you recommend some of these activities to your friend? Why wouldn t you recommend the other activities? 1

2 2 The Michigan Guide to the ECCE Test 2. Useful Expressions Do you know these words and phrases? Use them to describe personal experiences. Feeling Verbs Expressions down/blue/sad upset/angry shocked/stunned/devastated to cheer someone up to make someone happy to make someone feel better to lessen/ease one s sorrow or pain in a good/bad mood down in the dumps under the weather not feeling myself lately

3 1: Good Vibes 3 ECCE Reading Practice 3. What Do You Think? In small groups, discuss the following questions. Many people say that laughter is the best medicine. What do you think? Can laughter actually cure a disease or solve any problem? Why? Why not? 4. Brainstorming Complete the chart with different effects you think laughter has on people. Effects of Laughter 5. Skimming Read the first paragraph of the Reading Passage. Which effects of laughter are mentioned? Are they positive or negative? Effects of Laughter Discuss how your predictions in Exercise 4 compare with what you wrote here in Exercise 5?

4 4 The Michigan Guide to the ECCE Test 6. Missing Phrases Find the best place for these phrases in the reading as indicated by the numbered blank. a. resort to unhealthy activities b. are held in hospitals c. may actually help me d. find other people Reading Passage Read the passage, and then answer the questions on pages 5 and 6 according to the information given in the passage. (1) Hearty laughter can change one s mood in an instant. It can erase fear, anger, worry, and sadness. Moreover, research has shown that laughter exercises the heart, lungs, and abdominal muscles. It boosts the immune system and even increases blood flow to the brain. Laughter has also been found to increase alertness, creativity, and memory, while increasing tolerance to pain and lowering blood pressure. However, laughter has often been considered to be the opposite of paying attention or working in schools or business settings. (2) Recently in the United States, laughter is being recognized for its health benefits. Because of this, there has been rapid growth in the number of laughter clubs being formed each year. One leader explains, Pre-school kids laugh more than 400 times a day, while most adults have only about 15 daily laughs. This is a shame because laughing is a great stress reducer that actually changes the chemistry of the brain. Laughter experts recommend taking a humor break rather than ➀, such as drinking, smoking, or overeating to release tension. (3) Certified laughter leaders are finding more consulting work with corporations these days. These consultants reduce stress and increase job satisfaction through humor therapy. In fact, they have found that one of the most common reasons why people leave their jobs is not because of their salary; it is because they are unhappy. (4) One laughter expert explained how laughter helped her: Although

5 1: Good Vibes 5 I couldn t change what happened in my life, I realized I could change my attitude. I discovered that laughter is a physical activity that ➁ find and experience inner peace, happiness, and love. (5) To have more opportunities to enjoy a good laugh each day, you need to ➂ who are bubbling over with infectious giggles. When they laugh, you will too. Luckily, people are now recognizing the growing importance of laughter. One example of this new trend is the 200 plus laughter clubs that ➃, schools, and businesses. 7. Skimming and Scanning Quickly skim the reading to find the following information. Some of the topics may not be mentioned. If they are, indicate the paragraph where you found them. Mentioned? Yes/No If so, in which paragraph(s)? 1. The effects of laughter on the body 2. Job satisfaction 3. The work of laughter experts 4. Where the next laughter club will meet 5. A personal anecdote 6. Cultural attitudes about laughter 7. Differences between children and adults about laughing habits 8. Suggestions to laugh more 8. Checking Comprehension Read the passage on pages 4 and 5 again. Answer the questions. Underline the text in the passage that contains information to answer these questions. Circle the letter of the best response. 1. According to the article, someone who laughs a lot a. has high blood pressure b. works out a lot c. is stressed d. fights infections more effectively

6 6 The Michigan Guide to the ECCE Test 2. According to the reading, what should we learn from pre-schoolers? a. to laugh in class b. to laugh more often c. to be 400 times more creative d. to take humor breaks 3. According to the article, what can we infer about humor therapy? a. It reduces job satisfaction. b. It increases blood pressure. c. It increases creativity. d. It guarantees a better salary. 4. What is the best title for the article? a. Laughter Changes Our Brains b. Laugh and Look Younger c. Laughter Can Help Pre-Schoolers d. Laughter: A Useful Resource 9. Identifying Opinions Decide whether the statement agrees or disagrees with the author s opinion. Circle agree or disagree. Then decide whether you agree or disagree. Circle agree or disagree. Find evidence in the article to support these opinions. Give reasons to support these opinions. Laughter specialists think that happiness is more important than salary. Author s Opinion Agree/Disagree My Opinion Agree/Disagree We can learn a lot from young children. Agree/Disagree Agree/Disagree

7 1: Good Vibes 7 ECCE Language Practice 10. Vocabulary: Word Forms Complete the chart using one or more words you know in each box. Noun Adjective Synonyms Antonym (adjectives) fear fearful afraid, frightened fearless anger worry sadness creativity 11. Vocabulary: Word Categories Using these words, create groups of related words according to their meaning. There may be different ways to group them. You can use as many boxes as you want from the chart. Then, give each category a name, and have at least two words in each category. An example is provided. chuckle gurgle shout cry holler smile frown laugh wail giggle scream weep grin screech yell Verbs that May Express Happiness Category Category Category Category smile giggle

8 8 The Michigan Guide to the ECCE Test 12. Grammar: Placement of Adverbs in Active and Passive Verb Forms Use the words in parentheses to complete the sentences. Use the verbs in the correct tense. An example has been done for you. Example: Several studies _ have repeatedly shown (repeatedly/show) that people who laugh more often live longer and are more satisfied with their lives. 1. The validity of the results of such studies (question/recently). 2. An experiment involving teenagers and auto industry workers (conduct/nowadays) in Central America to show the relationship between literacy levels and happiness. 3. Researchers in Ottawa (find/actually) that laughter increased tolerance and reduced anxiety. 4. The work of laughter specialists (recognize/not/publicly) before Dr. Mothe published the results he obtained with multi-national companies just a few years ago. 5. Unhappiness at work (consider/now) the most important reason why companies are requesting psychological counseling for their staff. 13. Sentence Completion Complete the sentences with information about yourself. Then use them as conversation starters to talk to your partner. 1. I ve been recently notified that. 2. A friend of mine was caught. 3. To be happy, it is essential that. 4. In spite of many obstacles,. 5. My family has always recommended that.

9 1: Good Vibes 9 ECCE Writing Practice THE ANN ARBOR TIMES Happiness: past and future. Some people feel happy when they can have the latest technological gadgets, change their car every year, or move to a larger house. On the other hand, some people feel happy when they can help others; they do not think about their own material possessions. Different people do different things to look for happiness. What does happiness mean to you? The Ann Arbor Times wants to know your opinion about how happiness has changed over the years. 14. Writing Exercises Choose one of the task options. A. Letter to the Editor Write a letter to the editor of The Ann Arbor Times. Describe first what you think made people happy in the past (e.g., during the time of your parent or grandparents), and then what you think will make people happy in the future. Explain your opinion about the best way to achieve happiness. B. Essay Happiness has different meanings to different people. Some say that we can only expect to live happy moments in our lives, and that real happiness is impossible to achieve. Others experience moments of happiness just by being in contact with nature, attending a concert, or working on a task they enjoy. What is your definition of happiness? How can happiness be cultivated in society?

10 10 The Michigan Guide to the ECCE Test ECCE Listening Practice 15. Listening: Short Conversations After each conversation, a question is asked about what was heard. The possible answers to the question are shown as pictures. Circle the correct answer for each question. Remember that each conversation is heard only once. Conversations are not repeated on the test. A B C 1. A B C 2. A B C 3.

11 1: Good Vibes 11 A B C 4. A B C 5.

12 12 The Michigan Guide to the ECCE Test ECCE Speaking Practice 16. Offering Advice Work in pairs. One of you will look at the information in Box A, and the other one will look at the information in Box B (on page 153). A will ask B questions to find out more about the problem. Then A needs to offer B some advice. What advice can you offer? Why did you choose that option? Why didn t you choose the other one? Make sure you use some of the information that B mentioned in your answer. A. Your friend has a problem. Ask questions to find out what the problem is and offer your advice. Look at the pictures and ask: Who is this person? What is the problem? What are the possible solutions? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each solution? 17. Elaboration Questions With a partner, ask each other these questions. Try to spend at least two minutes responding to each question. Encourage each other to develop the topic. Pay attention to the level of detail when elaborating. 1. In what ways can people find happiness by spending time on the Internet? 2. What kind of friendship can you develop with someone you haven t met in person? 3. In what ways can chat rooms be dangerous? 4. In what ways can a person be happy without having a social life and friends who care about him or her?

8/22/2017. The Therapeutic Benefits of Humor in Mental Health and Addictions Treatment. The Therapeutic Benefits of Humor: What the Research Says

8/22/2017. The Therapeutic Benefits of Humor in Mental Health and Addictions Treatment. The Therapeutic Benefits of Humor: What the Research Says Hope Consortium Conference Presents The Therapeutic Benefits of Humor in Mental Health and Addictions Treatment Presenter Mark Sanders, LCSW, CADC The Therapeutic Benefits of Humor: What the Research Says

More information

The Business Benefits of Laughter as Therapy. 30 October 2015

The Business Benefits of Laughter as Therapy. 30 October 2015 The Business Benefits of Laughter as Therapy 30 October 2015 Introduction Laughter as Therapy is the Latest Scientific Phenomena, restoring Balance within each Individual Laughter is inisiated as a way

More information

Quiz 4 Practice. I. Writing Narrative Essay. Write a few sentences to accurately answer these questions.

Quiz 4 Practice. I. Writing Narrative Essay. Write a few sentences to accurately answer these questions. Writing 6 Name: Quiz 4 Practice I. Writing Narrative Essay. Write a few sentences to accurately answer these questions. 1. What is the goal of a narrative essay? 2. What makes a good topic? (What helps

More information

GRADE 9 NOVEMBER 2013 ENGLISH FIRST ADDITIONAL LANGUAGE

GRADE 9 NOVEMBER 2013 ENGLISH FIRST ADDITIONAL LANGUAGE SENIOR PHASE GRADE 9 NOVEMBER 2013 ENGLISH FIRST ADDITIONAL LANGUAGE MARKS: 100 TIME: 2½ hours This question paper consists of 10 pages. (NOVEMBER 2013) ENGLISH FIRST ADDITIONAL LANGUAGE 2 INSTRUCTIONS

More information

C/ Fernando Poo 5 Madrid (Metro Delicias o Embajadores).

C/ Fernando Poo 5 Madrid (Metro Delicias o Embajadores). SELECTIVIDAD JUNIO 2017 MADRID INGLÉS OPCIÓN A EXAMEN RESUELTO An End to Tedious Conversations Have you ever worried that your conversations might be boring? Well, help could be at hand from a watch that

More information

Self-care in health practices:

Self-care in health practices: Self-care in health practices: The importance of in Work/Life balance P R ESENTER: N AKAISHA TO LBERT -BANKS, L C SW, L C AC, C LY L, C EC I N DIANA J O I NT N AT IONAL P U BLIC H E A LTH W E E K C O NFE

More information

Lesson 60: Visit to the Doctor / Dentist (20-25 minutes)

Lesson 60: Visit to the Doctor / Dentist (20-25 minutes) Main Topic 10: Health Care Lesson 60: Visit to the Doctor / Dentist (20-25 minutes) Today, you will: 1. Learn useful vocabulary related to VISIT TO DOCTOR/DENTIST 2. Review Verb Form Future Perfect I.

More information

Humor, Laughter and Health

Humor, Laughter and Health Page 1 of 6 Humor, Laughter and Health BRINGING MORE HUMOR AND LAUGHTER INTO OUR LIVES The sound of roaring laughter is far more contagious than any cough, sniffle, or sneeze. Humor and laughter can cause

More information

THE LAUGHING WARRIOR 2010

THE LAUGHING WARRIOR 2010 THE LAUGHING WARRIOR 2010 Souls at Play Productions Why not after all, laughter IS the BEST medicine!! Why Laugh?. In addition to the domino effect of joy and amusement, laughter also triggers healthy

More information

for your interest in Perceptia Press. We are delighted to enclose the sample book(s) you requested.

for your interest in Perceptia Press. We are delighted to enclose the sample book(s) you requested. Thank You! for your interest in Perceptia Press. We are delighted to enclose the sample book(s) you requested. We are teachers, too, and our goal is to produce textbooks that will help both you and your

More information

Vocabulary Look at the words written in boldface in the Dialogue Box. Guess their meanings by how they are used in the sentences.

Vocabulary Look at the words written in boldface in the Dialogue Box. Guess their meanings by how they are used in the sentences. LESSSON C1 Passing on Information Informally I. WARM-UP Vocabulary Look at the words written in boldface in the Dialogue Box. Guess their meanings by how they are used in the sentences. II. DIALOGUE BOX

More information

2018 Oregon Dental Conference Course Handout

2018 Oregon Dental Conference Course Handout 2018 Oregon Dental Conference Course Handout Leigh Anne Jasheway, MPH Course 9113: Don't Get Stressed Out! Get Funny! Thursday, April 5 1:30-4:30 pm Don t Get Stressed-Out! Get Funny! Leigh Anne Jasheway,

More information

Table of Contents TABLE OF CONTENTS

Table of Contents TABLE OF CONTENTS Table of Contents TABLE OF CONTENTS About This Book... v About the Author... v Standards...vi Syllables...1-5 Word Parts...6-37 Prefixes...6-19 Suffixes...20-33 Roots...34-37 Word Relationships...38-56

More information

Welcome and Appreciation!

Welcome and Appreciation! Creative Approaches to Connecting with Children, Families, and Professionals: Humor at Its Best Early On Center for Higher Education Bite Size Webinar November 2014 Holly Hoffman Welcome and Appreciation!

More information

Teamwork Makes the Dream Work

Teamwork Makes the Dream Work Teamwork Makes the Dream Work Your Presenter Sally Shaver DuBois B.S., M.A., M.Ed. Coach, Wellness Professional, Teacher, Entertainer, Certified Laughter Leader and Jackie of Many Trades Listen Generously

More information

The Effects of Humor Therapy on Older Adults. Mariah Stump

The Effects of Humor Therapy on Older Adults. Mariah Stump The Effects of Humor Therapy on Older Adults Mariah Stump Introduction Smiling, laughing, and humor is something that individuals come across everyday. People watch humorous videos, listen to comedians,

More information

About You: How Music Affects Your Moods

About You: How Music Affects Your Moods Non-fiction: About You: How Music Affects Your Moods About You: How Music Affects Your Moods Music can change how you feel. Learn the keys to how music connects with your mind and body. It had been a hard

More information

Weekly newscast October 17 th, 2014

Weekly newscast October 17 th, 2014 Learning English with CBC Edmonton Weekly newscast October 17 th, 2014 Lessons prepared by Barbara Edmondson & Justine Light Objectives of the weekly newscast lesson - to develop listening skills at the

More information

Laughter Yoga. Laughter is Healthy for YOU!

Laughter Yoga. Laughter is Healthy for YOU! Laughter Yoga Laughter is Healthy for YOU! History of Laughter Yoga It is a fun new exercise system sweeping the world developed by Dr. Kataria It started in Bombay India with just 5 people in 1995 and

More information

About You: How Music Affects Your Moods

About You: How Music Affects Your Moods Non-fiction: About You - How Music Affects Your Moods About You: How Music Affects Your Moods Music can change how you feel. Learn the keys to how music connects with your mind and body. It had been a

More information

1. Choose to Laugh. Psalm 126:2-3.

1. Choose to Laugh. Psalm 126:2-3. 1. Choose to Laugh Our mouths were filled with laughter, our tongues with songs of joy. Then it was said among the nations, The LORD has done great things for them. The LORD has done great things for us,

More information

Joshua s Experiment in Sending Positive Peer Pressure

Joshua s Experiment in Sending Positive Peer Pressure 2001 by Debbie Dunn 1 3 Male Actors: Joshua Zach Dustin 2 Female Actor: Julie Joshua s Mom 2 or more Narrators: Guys or Girls Narrator : Eighth grader Joshua was invited to a party at Dustin s house. Narrator

More information

The Laughter Club B1 B2 Module 2 January 17. Albert-Learning

The Laughter Club B1 B2 Module 2 January 17. Albert-Learning The Laughter Club B1 B2 Module 2 1 Summary Here s What We Will Be Learning in this Presentation: Laughter- What Is It? Laughter Is Indeed The Best Medicine. Comedy: Stand Up Comedians. Satire. Television

More information

SUGGESTED Learning Strategies: Graphic Organizer, Marking the Text, Oral Reading, Quickwrite, Think-Pair-Share, Role Play, Word Map

SUGGESTED Learning Strategies: Graphic Organizer, Marking the Text, Oral Reading, Quickwrite, Think-Pair-Share, Role Play, Word Map Activity 3.4 Character Analysis in Bad Boy SUGGESTED Learning Strategies: Graphic Organizer, Marking the Text, Oral Reading, Quickwrite, Think-Pair-Share, Role Play, Word Map M e m o i r A b o u t t h

More information

Laugh with Me!: The Role of Humor in Relationship Building

Laugh with Me!: The Role of Humor in Relationship Building Laugh with Me!: The Role of Humor in Relationship Building Pioneer Network 13 th Annual Conference Bellevue, WA Concurrent Session F Wednesday, August 14 8:00am 9:30am (yikes, that s early!) Ann McQueen,

More information

DVI. Instructions. 3. I control the money in my home and how it is spent. 4. I have used drugs excessively or more than I should.

DVI. Instructions. 3. I control the money in my home and how it is spent. 4. I have used drugs excessively or more than I should. DVI Instructions You are completing this inventory to give the staff information that will help them understand your situation and needs. The statements are numbered. Each statement must be answered. Read

More information

FOURTH YEAR WEB SAMPLE 2017

FOURTH YEAR WEB SAMPLE 2017 ASOCIACIÓN EX ALUMNOS DEL PROFESORADO EN LENGUAS VIVAS JUAN RAMÓN FERNÁNDEZ FOURTH YEAR WEB SAMPLE 2017 A B C D E F Total A. Rewrite these sentences without altering their meaning: (10) 1. We re going

More information

ENGLISH FILE Intermediate

ENGLISH FILE Intermediate 2 Grammar, Vocabulary, and Pronunciation B GRAMMAR 1 Complete the time expressions with for or since. Example: for many years 1 Monday 2 the lecture began 3 a really long time 4 a couple of weeks we met

More information

Emotional Intelligence

Emotional Intelligence Emotional Intelligence for children ages 5-7 Note to Parents Emotional Intelligence is a wide range of skills that children of all ages can develop and improve. These skills are critical for emotional

More information

Tinnitus-Terminator.com 1

Tinnitus-Terminator.com 1 Tinnitus-Terminator.com 1 On the following few pages, you will find all materials you should print for the Tinnitus Terminator program. All of the chosen files will help you better organize. Here is a

More information

THE EMPLOYEE ENHANCEMENT NEWSLETTER

THE EMPLOYEE ENHANCEMENT NEWSLETTER THE EMPLOYEE ENHANCEMENT NEWSLETTER Helpful Resources from your Employee Assistance Program MAR 17 March Online Seminar Disrupting Negative Thoughts It s not negative thoughts themselves that are the issue;

More information

Who is Makayla Raney?

Who is Makayla Raney? November Issue 2016 Who is Makayla Raney? Makayla Raney, is a native of Columbus, Ohio and at 22-years-old, she is a 4th year undergraduate at the University of Cincinnati; where she is currently pursuing

More information

Laughing Lessons PHOTOGRAPHY COURTESY OF 2007 BRYAN WHITE/ WHITELAKESTUDIO.COM

Laughing Lessons PHOTOGRAPHY COURTESY OF 2007 BRYAN WHITE/ WHITELAKESTUDIO.COM Laughing Lessons PHOTOGRAPHY COURTESY OF 2007 BRYAN WHITE/ WHITELAKESTUDIO.COM 48 Points North September 2007 A Good Guffaw Just Might Be The Best Medicine [ WRITTEN BY AMY MEADOWS ] Top: Bobbi Martin

More information

ENGLISH FILE Intermediate

ENGLISH FILE Intermediate 9 Grammar, Vocabulary, and Pronunciation A GRAMMAR 1 Complete the sentences with the correct form of the verb in brackets. Example: If we had had (have) more time, we d have visited Anne and Dave. 1 I

More information

Tinnitus can be helped. Let us help you.

Tinnitus can be helped. Let us help you. What a relief. Tinnitus can be helped. Let us help you. What is tinnitus? Around 250 million people worldwide suffer Tinnitus is the perception of sounds or noise within the ears with no external sound

More information

Gozo College Boys Secondary Victoria - Gozo, Malta Ninu Cremona

Gozo College Boys Secondary Victoria - Gozo, Malta Ninu Cremona Gozo College Boys Secondary Victoria - Gozo, Malta Ninu Cremona Half-Yearly Examination 2011 2012 Form 3 Sec. ENGLISH Time: 15mins TEACHER S PAPER This Valentine's Day, millions of people will exchange

More information

Don t Laugh at Me. 3 Cs F. Preparation. Vocabulary builder breaker

Don t Laugh at Me. 3 Cs F. Preparation. Vocabulary builder breaker Don t Laugh at Me 3 Cs F I care about myself. I care about others. I care about my community. Help students to understand and invite them to state clearly: I have the right to care about myself. I have

More information

What can you learn from the character? How do you know this? Use a part of the story in your answer. RL 1.2

What can you learn from the character? How do you know this? Use a part of the story in your answer. RL 1.2 Reading 3D TRC Question Stems Level F What can you learn from the character? How do you know this? Use a part of the story in your answer. RL 1.2 Where do the characters live in this story? Use part of

More information

Reading Skills Practice Test 5

Reading Skills Practice Test 5 Reading Skills Practice Test 5 READING COMPREHENSION Read each story. Then fill in the circle that best completes each sentence or answers each question. Weather experts use information from space to predict

More information

Clarksburg High School

Clarksburg High School Clarksburg High School English Composition Style Guide Clarksburg High School 22500 Wims Road Clarksburg, MD 20871 Created in consultation with the CHS English Department Second Edition 2011 MLA This guide

More information

Idioms Expressing Emotion

Idioms Expressing Emotion Idioms Expressing Emotion Page 1 The following lesson is designed for upper intermediate to advanced learners. Below is vocabulary which actually consists of the idioms themselves. With each idiom you

More information

My interests. Vocabulary. Free-time activities. Let s go to the new pizza place. Good idea! I m really hungry. What are you drawing?

My interests. Vocabulary. Free-time activities. Let s go to the new pizza place. Good idea! I m really hungry. What are you drawing? 8 1 My interests Vocabulary Free-time activities 1 Look at the pictures and complete the words with vowels and the letter y c h a t o n l i n e 2 p l y t n n s 4 g t t h g m 6 p l y n n s t r m n t 1 r

More information

NorthStar. Introductory Focus on Reading and Writing:

NorthStar. Introductory Focus on Reading and Writing: NorthStar Introductory Focus on Reading and Writing:. English Language g Institute (ELI) External Student Course (ELCA 101) 1. Course Code: ELCA 101 Course No.:101 Prerequisite: None Credit Hours: 3 2.

More information

5 Family and Friends. 5A The People in My Life. VOCABULARY How s it going? IN THIS UNIT, YOU...

5 Family and Friends. 5A The People in My Life. VOCABULARY How s it going? IN THIS UNIT, YOU... 5 Family and Friends 5A The People in My Life VOCABULARY How s it going? 1 Look at the photo. Answer the questions. 1 How would you describe these people? Do you know anyone like this? 2 Why do you think

More information

This exercise focuses on people and their jobs using the most common suffixes.

This exercise focuses on people and their jobs using the most common suffixes. Part3: Word Formation 1) Forming nouns form verbs This exercise focuses on people and their jobs using the most common suffixes. Use the word in bold to form the noun which refers to the person who does

More information

SPEAKING TASK. If you can t remember the word surgeon, you could say a more general word like doctor. GENERAL: DON TS

SPEAKING TASK. If you can t remember the word surgeon, you could say a more general word like doctor. GENERAL: DON TS SPEAKING TASK TIPS GENERAL: Breathe and relax. You have now the chance to shine! Speak as naturally as possible, as at any other day in class. Always try to give full, relevant answers. Do not restrict

More information

UNIVERSITÀ DEGLI STUDI DI CAGLIARI FACOLTA DI FARMACIA E BIOLOGIA IDONEITA LINGUA INGLESE, A.A APPELLO..

UNIVERSITÀ DEGLI STUDI DI CAGLIARI FACOLTA DI FARMACIA E BIOLOGIA IDONEITA LINGUA INGLESE, A.A APPELLO.. UNIVERSITÀ DEGLI STUDI DI CAGLIARI FACOLTA DI FARMACIA E BIOLOGIA IDONEITA LINGUA INGLESE, A.A. 2015-2016 APPELLO.. N.B. La consultazione del vocabolario (o di altri testi) e/o l utilizzo del telefonino

More information

Caregiver s Questions and Answers April 2011

Caregiver s Questions and Answers April 2011 Caregiver s Questions and Answers April 2011 by Patricia Smith Founder, Compassion Fatigue Awareness Project Web: www.compassionfatigue.org www.facebook.com/compassionfatigue Media Contact for www.compassionfatigue.org:

More information

Advantage: Disadvantage: Left-handers have to struggle to do normal things that right-handed people find quite easy.

Advantage: Disadvantage: Left-handers have to struggle to do normal things that right-handed people find quite easy. 1 Reading: distinguishing fact and opinion Think gain! S Read the article and write one advantage and one disadvantage of being left-handed. dvantage: isadvantage: SIN S Left-handed Geniuses ome of the

More information

Here is a short recap of the steps of this program:

Here is a short recap of the steps of this program: 2 On the following few pages, you will find all materials you should print for the Tinnitus Terminator program. All of the chosen files will help you better organize. Here is a short recap of the steps

More information

News English.com Ready-to-use ESL / EFL Lessons Burma cyclone death toll may reach 80,000

News English.com Ready-to-use ESL / EFL Lessons Burma cyclone death toll may reach 80,000 www.breaking News English.com Ready-to-use ESL / EFL Lessons 1,000 IDEAS & ACTIVITIES FOR LANGUAGE TEACHERS The Breaking News English.com Resource Book http://www.breakingnewsenglish.com/book.html Burma

More information

The Benefits of Laughter Yoga for People with Depression. Laughter is a subject that has been studying intensively. However, it is still a new area of

The Benefits of Laughter Yoga for People with Depression. Laughter is a subject that has been studying intensively. However, it is still a new area of Francis 1 Milene Francis Laughter Yoga HLTH 1243 Delan Jensen Julie Pugmire Fall 2015 The Benefits of Laughter Yoga for People with Depression Laughter is a subject that has been studying intensively.

More information

Suffixes -y, -ly, -ful

Suffixes -y, -ly, -ful Suffixes -y, -ly, -ful P R A C T I C E B O O K Phonics: Suffixes -y, -ly, -ful Circle the word that matches each picture. Write the word and underline the suffix. 1. wonder windy 2. helpful hopping 3.

More information

1 English Short Stories for Beginners,

1 English Short Stories for Beginners, 1 English Short Stories for Beginners, www.really-learn-english.com Copyright 2011 2016 www.really-learn-english.com Thanks for downloading the English Short Stories booklet. It includes the first 2 chapters

More information

2nd Grade Reading, Writing, & Integrated Social Studies Pacing Guide for

2nd Grade Reading, Writing, & Integrated Social Studies Pacing Guide for 2nd Grade,, & 1ST NINE WEEKS Launching with Fiction / / Citizenship L/F1: Growing Readers & L/F2: Parts & Procedures L/F3 Readers Build Good Habits & L/F4 Readers Stay Engaged L/F5: Choosing Just Right

More information

Lesson 70: Shopping (20-25 minutes)

Lesson 70: Shopping (20-25 minutes) Main Topic 13: Purchasing Lesson 70: Shopping (20-25 minutes) Today, you will: 1. Learn useful vocabulary related to SHOPPING. 2. Review the use of Absolute Possessive Pronouns. I. VOCABULARY Exercise

More information

List 5 words and their antonyms.

List 5 words and their antonyms. Antonyms Antonyms are words with opposite, or nearly opposite, meanings: big and small; up and down. List 5 words and their antonyms. 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. Use your antonym pairs in three sentences. 6. CD O 7.

More information

Why Do We Need To Laugh More Today

Why Do We Need To Laugh More Today 1 Introduction You re about to laugh like you have never laughed before! But before you begin to laugh, I want to share with you a breakthrough technology called Laughter Yoga, which I discovered in 1995.

More information

FCE (B2): REPHRASING 50 PRACTICE QUESTIONS FOR THE CAMBRIDGE FIRST CERTIFICATE EXAM

FCE (B2): REPHRASING  50 PRACTICE QUESTIONS FOR THE CAMBRIDGE FIRST CERTIFICATE EXAM WWW.INTERCAMBIOIDIOMASONLINE.COM FCE (B2): REPHRASING 50 PRACTICE QUESTIONS FOR THE CAMBRIDGE FIRST CERTIFICATE EXAM WWW.INTERCAMBIOIDIOMASONLINE.COM Marc Andrew Huckle Rephrasing (transformation) types

More information

Excel Test Zone. Get the Results You Want! SAMPLE TEST WRITING

Excel Test Zone. Get the Results You Want! SAMPLE TEST WRITING Excel Test Zone Get the Results You Want! NAPLAN*-style YEAR 3 SAMPLE TEST WRITING It was announced in 2013 that the type of text for the 2014 NAPLAN Writing Test will be either persuasive OR narrative.

More information

Aufnahmeprüfung 2014 ENGLISCH

Aufnahmeprüfung 2014 ENGLISCH Gymnasium St. Antonius Appenzell ENGLISCH Zeit: Hilfsmittel: 90 Minuten keine Name:... Vorname:... Schule:... Part 1: Listening... /12 Part 2: Reading and Vocabulary... /16 Part 3: Writing... /12 Part

More information

The Chocolate Touch. By Patrick Skene Catling. Name

The Chocolate Touch. By Patrick Skene Catling. Name The Chocolate Touch By Patrick Skene Catling Name Day 1 - Read chapters 1-2, pages 9-34 Writing/Blogging- John really loves to eat chocolate. What is your favorite food? Why do you like it? How would you

More information

READING: World Laughter Day

READING: World Laughter Day N A M E : DATE: READING: World Laughter Day Vocabulary Preview Match the words on the left with the meanings on the right. 1. joke A. good 2. laughter B. the action or sound of laughing 3. celebrate (v.)

More information

10telephoning 50992_U10_rev05_ indd /24/15 12:22 PM

10telephoning 50992_U10_rev05_ indd /24/15 12:22 PM 10telephoning 50992_U10_rev05_140-153.indd 140 Look at the photo. nswer the questions. 1 What are these people doing? 2 Does you ever have to do this? 3 What kind of phone do you have now? Do you like

More information

Adverbs of manner. LEVEL NUMBER LANGUAGE Beginner A2_2067G_EN English

Adverbs of manner. LEVEL NUMBER LANGUAGE Beginner A2_2067G_EN English Adverbs of manner GRAMMAR LEVEL NUMBER LANGUAGE Beginner A2_2067G_EN English Goals Learn about adverbs of manner Learn about the importance of placement of adverbs of manner 2 Some people have many talents.

More information

Fill in the crossword puzzle with the correct vocabulary word by reading the clues below.

Fill in the crossword puzzle with the correct vocabulary word by reading the clues below. Name: Date: Fill in the crossword puzzle with the correct vocabulary word by reading the clues below. 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ACROSS 3. The typical way of life of a person. 6. A substance essential to

More information

EPISODE 26: GIVING ADVICE. Giving Advice Here are several language choices for the language function giving advice.

EPISODE 26: GIVING ADVICE. Giving Advice Here are several language choices for the language function giving advice. STUDY NOTES EPISODE 26: GIVING ADVICE Giving Advice The language function, giving advice is very useful in IELTS, both in the Writing and the Speaking Tests, as well of course in everyday English. In the

More information

EXERCISE A: Match the idioms in column A with their meanings in column B.

EXERCISE A: Match the idioms in column A with their meanings in column B. Look at the pictures. Can you guess what the topic idiom is about? IDIOMS 1J EXERCISE A: Match the idioms in column A with their meanings in column B. A B 1. in your dreams a. an idea or plan that could

More information

Song Lessons Understanding and Using English Grammar, 3rd Edition. A lesson about adjective, adverb, and noun clauses (Chapters 12, 13, 17)

Song Lessons Understanding and Using English Grammar, 3rd Edition. A lesson about adjective, adverb, and noun clauses (Chapters 12, 13, 17) A lesson about adjective, adverb, and noun clauses (Chapters 12, 13, 17) Notes for the Teacher 1. The Song Do a search on the Internet to find the song Father and Daughter by Paul Simon. When you search,

More information

American. Herbert Puchta & Jeff Stranks Gunther Gerngross Christian Holzmann Peter Lewis-Jones. Student s Book

American. Herbert Puchta & Jeff Stranks Gunther Gerngross Christian Holzmann Peter Lewis-Jones. Student s Book American Herbert Puchta & Jeff Stranks Gunther Gerngross Christian Holzmann Peter Lewis-Jones Interactive CD-ROM with Student s Book U N I T 1 Football? Soccer? Grammar simple present, present continuous,

More information

Contents. Section 1 VERBS...57

Contents. Section 1 VERBS...57 Section 1 Contents Introduction...5 How to Use This Book...6 Assessment Records...7 Games & Activities Matrix..15 Standards...16 NOUNS...17 Teaching Notes...18 Student Page 1 (Nouns)...20 Student Page

More information

ESL 340: Gerunds/Infinitives. Week 5, Tue. 2/13/18 Todd Windisch, Spring 2018

ESL 340: Gerunds/Infinitives. Week 5, Tue. 2/13/18 Todd Windisch, Spring 2018 ESL 340: Gerunds/Infinitives Week 5, Tue. 2/13/18 Todd Windisch, Spring 2018 Speaking Practice With a partner, the teacher will give you two pieces of paper (STUDENT A & STUDENT B) with different questions

More information

Sound UNIT 9. Discussion point

Sound UNIT 9. Discussion point UNIT 9 Sound Discussion point LISTENING Listening for organization Listening to interpret the speaker s attitude VOCABULARY Word + preposition combinations SPEAKING Fielding questions during a presentation

More information

GW7 Grammar & Writing Issue 1

GW7 Grammar & Writing Issue 1 Grammar & Writing February 2, 2005 : 301-251-7014 Fax: 301-251-8645 For class info, visit www.mathenglish.com Direct your questions and comments to DrLi@Smart4Micro.com Name: Peter Lin Peter Lin WRITING

More information

KS2 Grammar, Punctuation & Spelling minutes a day for ten days. Answers. Easter. Revision of 11

KS2 Grammar, Punctuation & Spelling minutes a day for ten days. Answers. Easter. Revision of 11 KS2 Grammar, Punctuation & Spelling 10-4-10 10 minutes a day for ten days s Easter Revision 2017 1 of 11 2017 10-4-10 Grammar, Punctuation & Spelling Day One: ANSWERS 1 bake, take, eat 2 Tom looked out

More information

Language at work Present simple

Language at work Present simple Unit 1 Language at work Present simple Present simple Positive: Add -s or -es after the verb with he / she / it. I / you / we / they specialize in Latin American music. He / She / It specializes in high-tech

More information

EXERCISE A: Match the idioms in column A with their meanings in column B.

EXERCISE A: Match the idioms in column A with their meanings in column B. Look at the pictures. Can you guess what the topic idiom is about? IDIOMS 1H EXERCISE A: Match the idioms in column A with their meanings in column B. A B 1. strike it lucky a. a slight chance 2. don t

More information

UNIT 1 What a wonderful world!

UNIT 1 What a wonderful world! UNIT 1 What a wonderful world! 1 UNIT 1 Activity 1 REPORT - about things to do on a Greek holiday. Look at the map of Greece. Put the names in the box on the map. Use your geography books to help you.

More information

ENGLISH FILE Pre-intermediate

ENGLISH FILE Pre-intermediate 8 Grammar, Vocabulary, and Pronunciation A GRAMMAR 1 Make first conditional sentences. Example: If we / not leave / now / we / miss / the last bus If we don t leave now, we ll miss the last bus. 1 If Mark

More information

A LY S S A N E I M A N

A LY S S A N E I M A N PSYCHOLOGY OF L AUGHTER A LY S S A N E I M A N WHAT IS LAUGHTER? "Laughter is a rhythmic physical and vocal reaction to humor or to a number of other stimuli" (WorldBookOnline.com) Larynx, also known as

More information

Exploring dramatic tension

Exploring dramatic tension Many of the following Streetcar Named Desire resources are tweaked from tried and true materials and ideas mainly from Teachit and Julie Blake s Full English. The idea is to give students five ways in

More information

Sestina by Elizabeth Bishop

Sestina by Elizabeth Bishop Sestina by Elizabeth Bishop Teacher Overview Skill Focus Levels of Thinking Remember Understand Apply Analyze Close Reading Grammar Composition Reading Strategies Determining Main Idea Generalization Inference

More information

ENGLISH FILE. End-of-course Test. New. Advanced. 1 Complete the sentences. Use the correct form of the verb in brackets.

ENGLISH FILE. End-of-course Test. New. Advanced. 1 Complete the sentences. Use the correct form of the verb in brackets. GRAMMAR 1 Complete the sentences. Use the correct form of the verb in brackets. Example: If I d been watching (be watching) the game properly, I would have seen Sven score the goal. 1 How long you and

More information

Level 3 - Stage 2 Stage Test based on English in Mind Book 2

Level 3 - Stage 2 Stage Test based on English in Mind Book 2 ERICN CMBRIDGE ENGLISH Level 3 - Stage 2 Stage Test based on English in Mind Book 2 Name: Class: Date: 1. GRMMR Unscramble the sentences and add the most appropriate question tag from the box. can t you?

More information

What Am I? Answers: egg, rain, letter, nest, hand. Perfect Poems for Teaching Sight Words Ellermeyer & Rowell, Scholastic Teaching Resources

What Am I? Answers: egg, rain, letter, nest, hand. Perfect Poems for Teaching Sight Words Ellermeyer & Rowell, Scholastic Teaching Resources What Am I? I can roll downhill, Or lay f lat on your dish. I come from a chicken. You can scramble me if you wish! I m needed everywhere. I begin with small drops. In dry deserts I am rare, But I am very

More information

AULAS 11 e 12 MODAL VERBS SUMMARY

AULAS 11 e 12 MODAL VERBS SUMMARY AULAS 11 e 12 MODAL VERBS SUMMARY A modal is a type of auxiliary (helping) verb that is used to express: ability, possibility, permission or obligation. The modals in English are: Can/could/be able to

More information

Ten Ways to Eliminate Stress

Ten Ways to Eliminate Stress 1 Ten Ways to Eliminate Stress When we experience stress, it is because our thoughts are aligned with a potential consequence (in other words the absence of what we want to have happen) instead of the

More information

Lesson 75: Technology (20-25 minutes)

Lesson 75: Technology (20-25 minutes) Main Topic 14: Technical Areas Lesson 75: Technology (20-25 minutes) Today, you will: 1. Learn useful vocabulary related to TECHNOLOGY. 2. Review of Relative Clause: Repeated Subject. I. VOCABULARY Exercise

More information

7/10/2014. Supplemental Handout (Not on website) Itunes Playlist PRIZE SURPRISE!!!!!

7/10/2014. Supplemental Handout (Not on website) Itunes Playlist PRIZE SURPRISE!!!!! Supplemental Handout (Not on website) Itunes Playlist PRIZE SURPRISE!!!!! 1 Defining Humor? Yikes! Getting a firm grasp on all the elements of humor is similar to controlling the use of liquor: it s like

More information

A Pleasant Evening. Listening Comprehension Lesson Plan

A Pleasant Evening. Listening Comprehension Lesson Plan Listening Comprehension Lesson Plan Goals A. To enable the students to develop listening comprehension skills by using the basic principles of focused listening. B. To expand students academic and spoken

More information

Patient Encounter Structure

Patient Encounter Structure Checking Doorway Information Full Name Age Sex Chief Complaint Vital Signs Blood Pressure Body Temperature Respiratory Rate Heart Rate Patient Encounter Structure 1. Greeting & Introduction 2. Chief Complaint

More information

LESSON 6: NETWORKING Agreeing and disagreeing. Talking about fashion.

LESSON 6: NETWORKING Agreeing and disagreeing. Talking about fashion. SZKOLENIA JĘZYKOWE DLA FIRM LESSON 6: NETWORKING Agreeing and disagreeing Talking about fashion Version without a key 1 WARM UP THINK and ANSWER Is the statement below TRUE or FALSE? There are no differences

More information

Laughter Yoga International

Laughter Yoga International Laughter Yoga International LAUGHTER YOGA CORPORATE SEMINARS Based on Dr. Kataria s worldwide experience of conducting corporate seminars, we bring you these training sessions and workshops designed to

More information

The BOOK BAND GUIDE. Find the right book, for the right child, at the right time.

The BOOK BAND GUIDE. Find the right book, for the right child, at the right time. The BOOK BAND GUIDE Find the right book, for the right child, at the right time. The BOOK BAND GUIDE What are Book Bands? Book Bands are a proven approach to developing successful readers. The Book Band

More information

Stamp Out Name-Calling: A Good Choice Packet

Stamp Out Name-Calling: A Good Choice Packet Stamp Out Name-Calling: A Good Choice Packet Almost everyone has been called a name at one time or another. You miss an easy ground ball in gym class and someone yells, You clutz! You know they didn t

More information

Who s an April Fool this year?

Who s an April Fool this year? Who s an April Fool this year? An old tradition April Fools Day - April 1 st - is a popular and very old tradition. No-one really knows how the tradition started, but it is at least 500 years old in France

More information

-ation. -ion. -sion. -ous. Austin s Amazing Bats. Spelling Words

-ation. -ion. -sion. -ous. Austin s Amazing Bats. Spelling Words Suffixes -ous, -sion, -ion, -ation Generalization When adding -ous, -sion, -ion, and -ation, some base words change. A final e or y may be dropped: famous, furious. Some words have other changes: decision.

More information

ITL Public School Summative Assessment 1 ( )

ITL Public School Summative Assessment 1 ( ) ITL Public School Summative Assessment (06-7) Date: 4.09.06 Class: VIII English (Set - B) Time: 3 Hrs. M. M: 70 General Instructions:. This paper consists of THREE sections : Section A Reading 0 marks

More information

Essay on soil pollution in english >>>CLICK HERE<<<

Essay on soil pollution in english >>>CLICK HERE<<< Essay on soil pollution in english >>>CLICK HERE

More information

LESSON 30: REVIEW & QUIZ (DEPENDENT CLAUSES)

LESSON 30: REVIEW & QUIZ (DEPENDENT CLAUSES) LESSON 30: REVIEW & QUIZ (DEPENDENT CLAUSES) Teachers, you ll find quiz # 8 on pages 7-10 of this lesson. Give the quiz after going through the exercises. Review Clauses are groups of words with a subject

More information