LESSON 30: REVIEW & QUIZ (DEPENDENT CLAUSES)

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "LESSON 30: REVIEW & QUIZ (DEPENDENT CLAUSES)"

Transcription

1 LESSON 30: REVIEW & QUIZ (DEPENDENT CLAUSES) Teachers, you ll find quiz # 8 on pages 7-10 of this lesson. Give the quiz after going through the exercises. Review Clauses are groups of words with a subject and a verb. There are two basic types of clauses. 1. Independent clauses (main clauses) are clauses that can stand alone as complete thoughts. We walk through the woods whenever we are at my grandma s house. 2. Dependent clauses (subordinate clauses) are clauses that can't stand alone as complete thoughts. They act as single parts of speech. There are three types of dependent clauses. a. Adverb clauses are dependent clauses that act as adverbs. I got poison ivy because we walked through the woods. b. Noun clauses are dependent clauses that act as nouns. I'll eat whatever is in the fridge. c. Adjective clauses are dependent clauses that act as adjectives. I'll eat the apple that is sitting on the counter. GET SMART (INSTRUCTOR) LESSON 30 1

2 Lesson 30 Sentence Diagramming Exercises 1. This is the book that I read. Hint: This sentence contains a dependent adjective clause. Key This is the book that I read. This is the book This is book the that I read I read that sentence - statement subject (pronoun) verb (intransitive linking) predicate noun adjective dependent adjective clause (adjective) subject of adjective clause (pronoun) verb of adjective clause (transitive active) relative pronoun introducing adjective clause, direct object of adjective clause (pronoun) 2 GET SMART (INSTRUCTOR) LESSON 30

3 2. My sister screams whenever she sees spiders. Hint: This sentence contains a dependent adverb clause. Key My sister screams whenever she sees spiders. My sister screams sister screams My whenever she sees spiders whenever she sees spiders sentence - statement subject (noun) verb (intransitive complete) adjective dependent adverb clause (adverb) subordinating conjunction subject of adverb clause (pronoun) verb of adverb clause (transitive active) direct object of adverb clause (noun) GET SMART (INSTRUCTOR) LESSON 30 3

4 3. I'll do whatever you say. Hint: This sentence contains a dependent noun clause. Key I'll do whatever you say. I'll do (whatever you say). I will do/ 'll do will/'ll do whatever you say you say whatever sentence - statement subject (pronoun) verb phrase helping verb main verb (transitive active) dependent noun clause acting as direct object (noun) subject of noun clause (pronoun) verb of noun clause (transitive active) word introducing noun clause, direct object of noun clause (pronoun) 4 GET SMART (INSTRUCTOR) LESSON 30

5 4. Tom, if you water the flowers and clip the hedges, I'll rake the yard. Key Tom, if you water the flowers and clip the hedges, I'll rake the yard. Tom, I will rake the yard Tom I will rake will rake yard if you water the flowers and clip the hedges if you water, clip and flowers hedges sentence - statement noun of direct address subject (pronoun) verb phrase helping verb main verb (transitive active) direct object (noun) dependent adverb clause (adverb) subordinating conjunction subject of adverb clause (pronoun) compound verbs of adverb clause coordinating conjunction of adverb clause direct object of water in adverb clause (noun) direct object of clip in adverb clause (noun) GET SMART (INSTRUCTOR) LESSON 30 5

6 5. Yes! You found the purple gloves that I lost! Key Yes! You found the purple gloves that I lost! Yes! You found the purple gloves Yes! You found gloves the, purple that I lost I lost that sentence - exclamation interjection subject (pronoun) verb (transitive active) direct object (noun) adjectives dependent adjective clause (adjective) subject of adjective clause (pronoun) verb of adjective clause (transitive active) relative pronoun introducing adjective clause, direct object of adjective clause (pronoun) Quiz #8: You ll find a blank quiz and an answer key on pages GET SMART (INSTRUCTOR) LESSON 30

7 Name Date GET SMART GRAMMAR QUIZ # 8 Dependent Clauses (Noun, Adverb, & Adjective Clauses) 1. What is a clause? 2. What are the two basic types of clauses? 3. What is a dependent clause? 4. Are the words in bold a dependent clause? If so, what kind of dependent clause is it? My mom smiles whenever she sees a baby. 5. Are the words in bold a dependent clause? If so, what kind of dependent clause is it? My mom smiles whenever she sees a baby. 6. Are the words in bold a dependent clause? If so, what kind of dependent clause is it? The shirt that I want is black. GET SMART (INSTRUCTOR) LESSON 30 7

8 Get Smart Grammar Quiz # 8 Directions: Diagram the following sentence and fill in the chart. 7. What James did surprised everyone in the class. What James did surprised everyone in the class. sentence (statement) (What James did) surprised everyone in the class. subject of (dependent noun clause) subject of noun clause (proper noun) did direct object of "did" (pronoun) verb of (transitive active) direct object of surprised (pronoun) in the class in class the 8 GET SMART (INSTRUCTOR) LESSON 30

9 Name Date 1. What is a clause? GET SMART GRAMMAR QUIZ # 8 KEY Dependent Clauses (Noun, Adverb, & Adjective Clauses) A clause is a group of words with a subject and a verb. 2. What are the two basic types of clauses? The two basic types of clauses are s and dependent clauses. 3. What is a dependent clause? A dependent clause is a group of words with a subject and a verb. It cannot stand alone as a complete idea. It acts as one part of speech. 4. Are the words in bold a dependent clause? If so, what kind of dependent clause is it? My mom smiles whenever she sees a baby. The words in bold are a dependent adverb clause. The clause has a subject (she) and a verb (sees), and it is modifying the word "smiles" in the. It tells us WHEN she smiles. 5. Are the words in bold a dependent clause? If so, what kind of dependent clause is it? My mom smiles whenever she sees a baby. The words in bold are not a dependent clause. This group of words has a subject (mom) and a verb (smiles), and it can stand alone. This means it's an. 6. Are the words in bold a dependent clause? If so, what kind of dependent clause is it? The shirt that I want is black. The words in bold are a dependent adjective clause. The clause has a subject (I) and a verb (want), and it is modifying the word "shirt" in the. It tells us WHICH shirt. GET SMART (INSTRUCTOR) LESSON 30 9

10 Get Smart Grammar Quiz # 8 KEY Directions: Diagram the following sentence and fill in the words in the chart. 7. What James did surprised everyone in the class. What James did surprised everyone in the class. What James did surprised everyone in the class. (What James did) surprised everyone in the class. What James did James did What surprised everyone in the class in class the sentence (statement) subject of (dependent noun clause) subject of noun clause (proper noun) verb (dependent clause) (transitive active) direct object of "did" (pronoun) verb of (transitive active) direct object of surprised (pronoun) prepositional phrase (adjective) preposition object of the preposition (noun) adjective 10 GET SMART (INSTRUCTOR) LESSON 30

Independent Clause. An independent clause is a group of words that has a subject and a verb that expresses a complete thought and can stand by itself.

Independent Clause. An independent clause is a group of words that has a subject and a verb that expresses a complete thought and can stand by itself. Grammar Clauses Independent Clause An independent clause is a group of words that has a subject and a verb that expresses a complete thought and can stand by itself. Dependent (Subordinate) Clause A subordinate

More information

Independent and Subordinate Clauses

Independent and Subordinate Clauses Independent and Subordinate Clauses What They Are and How to Use Them By: Kalli Bradshaw Do you remember the difference between a subject and a predicate? Identify the subject and predicate in this sentence:

More information

Shurley Grammar Level 6 Chapter 8 Answer Key

Shurley Grammar Level 6 Chapter 8 Answer Key Shurley Grammar Level 6 *Note that we ALWAYS start classifying our sentences by looking for prepositions and labeling prepositional phrases FIRST. This is different than the order the book teaches, but

More information

CLAUSES. The Clause Test is tentatively planned for next Thursday, March 22nd.

CLAUSES. The Clause Test is tentatively planned for next Thursday, March 22nd. The Clause Test is tentatively planned for next Thursday, March 22nd. What is an independent clause? an independent clause expresses a and can stand in a. it is also known as a clause What is an independent

More information

Rubrics & Checklists

Rubrics & Checklists Rubrics & Checklists fulfilling Common Core s for Fifth Grade Opinion Writing Self-evaluation that's easy to use and comprehend Scoring that's based on Common Core expectations Checklists that lead students

More information

Song Lessons Understanding and Using English Grammar, 3rd Edition. A lesson about adjective, adverb, and noun clauses (Chapters 12, 13, 17)

Song Lessons Understanding and Using English Grammar, 3rd Edition. A lesson about adjective, adverb, and noun clauses (Chapters 12, 13, 17) A lesson about adjective, adverb, and noun clauses (Chapters 12, 13, 17) Notes for the Teacher 1. The Song Do a search on the Internet to find the song Father and Daughter by Paul Simon. When you search,

More information

CRCT Study Guide 6 th Grade Language Arts PARTS OF SPEECH. 1. Noun a word that names a PERSON, PLACE, THING, or IDEA

CRCT Study Guide 6 th Grade Language Arts PARTS OF SPEECH. 1. Noun a word that names a PERSON, PLACE, THING, or IDEA CRCT Study Guide 6 th Grade Language Arts PARTS OF SPEECH 1. Noun a word that names a PERSON, PLACE, THING, or IDEA Singular Noun refers to ONE person, ONE place, ONE thing, or ONE Idea. (teacher, store,

More information

Part 1: Writing Identifying and Fixing Sentence Fragments and Run-on Sentences:

Part 1: Writing Identifying and Fixing Sentence Fragments and Run-on Sentences: Fundamentals of Writing 2 Lesson 2 Here is what you will learn in this lesson: I. Writing: The Sentence Sentence Writing: Identifying and fixing sentence fragments and runon sentences. Paragraph Writing:

More information

Gerunds & Infinitives. Week 14, Mon 11/23/15 Todd Windisch, Fall 2015

Gerunds & Infinitives. Week 14, Mon 11/23/15 Todd Windisch, Fall 2015 Gerunds & Infinitives Week 14, Mon 11/23/15 Todd Windisch, Fall 2015 Announcements Computer lab on Wednesday: Building 26B, Room 1555 Updated Schedule 11/23 : Gerunds & infinitives, indirect speech quiz

More information

Contents. Section 1 VERBS...57

Contents. Section 1 VERBS...57 Section 1 Contents Introduction...5 How to Use This Book...6 Assessment Records...7 Games & Activities Matrix..15 Standards...16 NOUNS...17 Teaching Notes...18 Student Page 1 (Nouns)...20 Student Page

More information

1. Use commas to separate independent clauses when they are joined by any of these seven coordinating conjunctions: and, but, for, or, nor, so, yet.

1. Use commas to separate independent clauses when they are joined by any of these seven coordinating conjunctions: and, but, for, or, nor, so, yet. Comma Use 1. Use commas to separate independent clauses when they are joined by any of these seven coordinating conjunctions: and, but, for, or, nor, so, yet. The game was over, but the crowd refused to

More information

Using Commas. c. Common introductory words that should be followed by a comma include yes, however, well.

Using Commas. c. Common introductory words that should be followed by a comma include yes, however, well. Using Commas The comma is a valuable, useful punctuation device because it separates the structural elements of sentences into manageable segments. The rules provided here are those found in traditional

More information

What s in a name? SIMPLE, COMPOUND, COMPLEX, & COMPOUND-COMPLEX SENTENCES

What s in a name? SIMPLE, COMPOUND, COMPLEX, & COMPOUND-COMPLEX SENTENCES What s in a name? SIMPLE, COMPOUND, COMPLEX, & COMPOUND-COMPLEX SENTENCES Simple Sentences ONE SUBJECT + ONE PREDICATE N + V Simple Sentences Romeo complains. Benvolio listens. They go to a party. Since

More information

HOMEWORK SESSION 5. A. From the list of vocabulary words below, fill in the word that matches the description.

HOMEWORK SESSION 5. A. From the list of vocabulary words below, fill in the word that matches the description. HOMEWORK SESSION 5 A. From the list of vocabulary words below, fill in the word that matches the description. word sentence object of a preposition phrase preposition independent clause clause prepositional

More information

Key stage 2 - English grammar, punctuation and spelling practice paper

Key stage 2 - English grammar, punctuation and spelling practice paper Key stage 2 - English grammar, punctuation and spelling practice paper First name... Middle name... Last name... Date of birth Day... Month... Year... School name... www.teachitprimary.co.uk 208 3074 Page

More information

Skill-Builders. Grades 5-6. Grammar & Usage. Writer Sarah Guare. Editorial Director Susan A. Blair. Project Manager Erica L.

Skill-Builders. Grades 5-6. Grammar & Usage. Writer Sarah Guare. Editorial Director Susan A. Blair. Project Manager Erica L. Daily Skill-Builders Grammar & Usage Grades 5-6 Writer Sarah Guare Editorial Director Susan A. Blair Project Manager Erica L. Varney Cover Designer Roman Laszok Interior Designer Mark Sayer Production

More information

ACT English Test. Instructions. Usage and Mechanics Punctuation (10 questions) Grammar and Usage (12 questions) Sentence Structure (18 questions)

ACT English Test. Instructions. Usage and Mechanics Punctuation (10 questions) Grammar and Usage (12 questions) Sentence Structure (18 questions) ACT English Test The multiple-choice English test focuses on proper grammar, punctuation, and sentence flow. You are asked on this ACT test to correct sentences identified within a passage. The passage

More information

PARTICIPIAL PHRASES: EXERCISE #1

PARTICIPIAL PHRASES: EXERCISE #1 PARTICIPIAL PHRASES: EXERCISE #1 PART I DIRECTIONS: Look at each verb below. If it looks like a present participle, mark "pres" in the space at the left. If it looks like a past participle, mark "past."

More information

Sentence Elements Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. Business English, 11e, by Mary Ellen Guffey and Carolyn Seefer 2-2

Sentence Elements Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. Business English, 11e, by Mary Ellen Guffey and Carolyn Seefer 2-2 Chapter 2 Sentences 2014 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be copied, scanned, or duplicated, in whole or in part, except for use as permitted in a license distributed with a certain product

More information

Part 1: Writing Paragraph Writing - Review:

Part 1: Writing Paragraph Writing - Review: Fundamentals of Writing 2 Lesson 3 Here is what you will learn in this lesson: I. Writing Paragraph Writing: Writing to Entertain II. Grammar Verbs and verb phrases Verb Tenses Adverbs Adverb clause Part

More information

Adverbs of manner. LEVEL NUMBER LANGUAGE Beginner A2_2067G_EN English

Adverbs of manner. LEVEL NUMBER LANGUAGE Beginner A2_2067G_EN English Adverbs of manner GRAMMAR LEVEL NUMBER LANGUAGE Beginner A2_2067G_EN English Goals Learn about adverbs of manner Learn about the importance of placement of adverbs of manner 2 Some people have many talents.

More information

used to speak about a noun. A or an is generally a noun. to show how clauses and each other. relate to (p. 34) (p. 28) happening words. (p.

used to speak about a noun. A or an is generally a noun. to show how clauses and each other. relate to (p. 34) (p. 28) happening words. (p. Wow! My lazy cats and dogs jump quickly on the chair. Interjection Pronoun Adjective Noun Conjunction Noun Verb Adverb Preposition Article Noun Used to express feelings. 1. 2. 3. Used in place of a noun.

More information

Do you sprinkle commas everywhere? Or, do you never use commas for fear of misusing commas?

Do you sprinkle commas everywhere? Or, do you never use commas for fear of misusing commas? Commas Do you sprinkle commas everywhere? Or, do you never use commas for fear of misusing commas? Commas save lives! Let s eat Mom. Or Let s eat, Mom Use commas with forms of address. Address= speaking

More information

The Harold Syntax Guide to Modifiers Pre-Test

The Harold Syntax Guide to Modifiers Pre-Test The Harold Syntax Guide to Modifiers Pre-Test Directions: In the blank space, write a "T" if the statement is true and an "F" if the statement is false. 1. Modifiers are adjectives, adverbs and sometimes

More information

Name: PD: Date: 1. Everyone who signed up for the marathon should meet at 8:00 A.M. tomorrow in the parking lot.

Name: PD: Date: 1. Everyone who signed up for the marathon should meet at 8:00 A.M. tomorrow in the parking lot. Name: PD: Date: Clauses Independent/Dependent (Subordinate), Adjective and Adverb A subordinate (or dependent) clause does not express a complete thought and cannot stand alone as a sentence. (1) The meaning

More information

4 PARTS. Prewriting 20 pts Rough Draft 20 pts Peer Edit Work Sheet 20 pts Final Draft 40 pts

4 PARTS. Prewriting 20 pts Rough Draft 20 pts Peer Edit Work Sheet 20 pts Final Draft 40 pts PROCESS PAPER 2 4 PARTS Prewriting 20 pts Rough Draft 20 pts Peer Edit Work Sheet 20 pts Final Draft 40 pts LITERARY ANALYSIS ESSAY What is one theme of the short story that you are analyzing? What are

More information

SAMPLE LESSON FOR PRONOUNS

SAMPLE LESSON FOR PRONOUNS SAMPLE LESSON FOR PRONOUNS OBJECTIVE PRONOUNS Quick Explanation: Pronouns stand in the place of the noun or nouns. This reduces the number of times the noun is repeated. There are many forms of pronouns.

More information

The Kiss of Death Errors

The Kiss of Death Errors If any of the following errors appear in your writing, it will receive the Kiss of Death. These are all major errors that are unacceptable in senior university level writing. Check your typed papers carefully

More information

Honors English 11 Davies Hour

Honors English 11 Davies Hour Honors English 11 Davies - 2015-2016 Name Hour CLAUSES A clause is a group of words that contains a verb and its subject and is used as part of a sentence. Kinds of Clauses Although every clause has a

More information

Syntax: Sentence Structure

Syntax: Sentence Structure Syntax: Sentence Structure Syntax in Sentence Patterns: Patterns and Form for Beauty and Meaning Functional Declarative (Statement) Interrogative (Question) Imperative (Command) Exclamatory (Exclamation)

More information

STEPS TO SUCCESSFUL WRITING

STEPS TO SUCCESSFUL WRITING STEPS TO SUCCESSFUL WRITING "What is written without effort is read without pleasure." Samuel Johnson Writing a composition is a process. 1. Brainstorm for ideas in English or Spanish. Use the wh-words

More information

TABLE OF CONTENTS. #3996 Daily Warm-Ups: Language Skills 2 Teacher Created Resources, Inc.

TABLE OF CONTENTS. #3996 Daily Warm-Ups: Language Skills 2 Teacher Created Resources, Inc. TABLE OF CONTENTS Introduction....3 Standards Correlation.................... 4 Tracking Sheet....6 Parts of Speech Pronouns...8 Nouns............................... 22 Verbs...30 Adjectives............................

More information

COMMON GRAMMAR ERRORS. By: Dr. Elham Alzoubi

COMMON GRAMMAR ERRORS. By: Dr. Elham Alzoubi COMMON GRAMMAR ERRORS THERE VS. THEIR VS. THEY'RE They re: This is a short form of they are. E.g. They re the children of our neighbors. There: It can be used as an expletive to start a sentence or can

More information

ESL 340: Adverb Clauses. Week 10, Tue. 3/27/18 Todd Windisch, Spring 2018

ESL 340: Adverb Clauses. Week 10, Tue. 3/27/18 Todd Windisch, Spring 2018 ESL 340: Adverb Clauses Week 10, Tue. 3/27/18 Todd Windisch, Spring 2018 Daily Bookkeeping ANNOUNCEMENTS: Textbooks for sale Claudia Spataro Contact her on the Remind app Grammar/Reading Quiz THUR Apr

More information

Randolph High School English Department Vertical Articulation of Writing Skills

Randolph High School English Department Vertical Articulation of Writing Skills Randolph High School English Department Vertical Articulation of Writing Skills English I Introduction: Begin globally Introductory statement: thought-provoking; make the reader think about topic Expand

More information

Fix It! Grammar Placement Tests

Fix It! Grammar Placement Tests Placement Test 1: The Nose Tree Because every book in Fix It! Grammar is foundational to the book after it, our recommendation is that all students begin with the first book: The Nose Tree. Each book includes

More information

Lesson 70: Shopping (20-25 minutes)

Lesson 70: Shopping (20-25 minutes) Main Topic 13: Purchasing Lesson 70: Shopping (20-25 minutes) Today, you will: 1. Learn useful vocabulary related to SHOPPING. 2. Review the use of Absolute Possessive Pronouns. I. VOCABULARY Exercise

More information

Supporting Your Child at. Punctuation and Grammar. Years 3 and 4. Woods Loke Primary School

Supporting Your Child at. Punctuation and Grammar. Years 3 and 4. Woods Loke Primary School Supporting Your Child at Home Punctuation and Grammar Years 3 and 4 Woods Loke Primary School By the end of Year 3 most children should know How to express time, place and cause using conjunctions (e.g.

More information

ADVERBS MODIFYING VERBS

ADVERBS MODIFYING VERBS 16.2 Adverbs as Modifiers (Modifying Verbs) Practice 1 Adverbs Modifying Verbs Adverbs modify verbs, adjectives, or other adverbs. An adverb modifying a verb will answer one of four questions about the

More information

Grammar 101: Adjectives, Adverbs, Articles, Prepositions, oh my! For Planners

Grammar 101: Adjectives, Adverbs, Articles, Prepositions, oh my! For Planners Grammar 101: Adjectives, Adverbs, Articles, Prepositions, oh my! For Planners Adjectives Adjectives modify nouns: I ate a meal. Meal is a noun. We don t know what kind of meal; all we know is that someone

More information

Grade ade 4 English & English & Grammar 4 Grammar School Success Subjects Proper Nouns Starts Here! Verb Tenses English & Gr

Grade ade 4 English & English & Grammar 4 Grammar School Success Subjects Proper Nouns Starts Here! Verb Tenses English & Gr English & Grammar Grade 4 School Success Starts Here! Subjects Proper Nouns Verb Tenses Adjectives and Adverbs Punctuation Verb Tenses Predicates A noun names a person, place or thing person sister, uncle,

More information

Sentences: Subjects & Predicates

Sentences: Subjects & Predicates Sentences: Subjects & Predicates A sentence is like a driver driving a car. Name: Subject because Predicate because Simple Subjects Complex The 1 that the sentence is about. The 1 that the sentence is

More information

Direct and Indirect Speech

Direct and Indirect Speech Changing to Direct and The mode of narration of a sentence can be either in direct speech or indirect speech. A change in the mode of narration depends on: i. the tense of the reporting verb; ii. who is

More information

Literary Analysis and Composition II

Literary Analysis and Composition II Literary Analysis and Composition II COURSE DESCRIPTION: In this course, students build on their language skills while reading classic and modern works of literature and improving their writing skills.

More information

English KS1 Medium Term Plan grid Updated July 2017 Year 1

English KS1 Medium Term Plan grid Updated July 2017 Year 1 Year 1 Autumn 1 (7, plan 7) Autumn 2 (7, plan 6) Spring 1 (5, plan 5) Spring 2 (6, plan 6) Summer 1 (6, plan 6) Summer 2 (7, plan 6) RC topic Oceans and Seas Turrets and Tiaras It's a Toy Story Brilliant

More information

Misplaced and Dangling Modifiers. This will be included on you final exam and on your standardized tests!

Misplaced and Dangling Modifiers. This will be included on you final exam and on your standardized tests! Misplaced and Dangling Modifiers This will be included on you final exam and on your standardized tests! What Is A Misplaced Modifier? A modifier is a word, phrase, or clause that describes or changes

More information

American. Herbert Puchta & Jeff Stranks Gunther Gerngross Christian Holzmann Peter Lewis-Jones. Student s Book

American. Herbert Puchta & Jeff Stranks Gunther Gerngross Christian Holzmann Peter Lewis-Jones. Student s Book American Herbert Puchta & Jeff Stranks Gunther Gerngross Christian Holzmann Peter Lewis-Jones Interactive CD-ROM with Student s Book U N I T 1 Football? Soccer? Grammar simple present, present continuous,

More information

In this course, students build on their language skills while reading classic and modern works of literature and improving their writing skills.

In this course, students build on their language skills while reading classic and modern works of literature and improving their writing skills. ENG202: Literary Analysis and Composition II Course Overview Course Length Materials Prerequisites Course Outline COURSE OVERVIEW In this course, students build on their language skills while reading classic

More information

Present perfect and simple past. LEVEL NUMBER LANGUAGE Beginner A2_2043G_EN English

Present perfect and simple past. LEVEL NUMBER LANGUAGE Beginner A2_2043G_EN English Present perfect and simple past GRAMMAR LEVEL NUMBER LANGUAGE Beginner A2_2043G_EN English Goals Review the present perfect and the simple past Practice using the present perfect with adverbs 2 I have

More information

ENG206: Literary Analysis and Composition II

ENG206: Literary Analysis and Composition II ENG206: Literary Analysis and Composition II Course Overview Course Length Materials Prerequisites Course Outline COURSE OVERVIEW Students are able to gain credit if they have previously completed this

More information

S-V S-V-AC S-V-SC S-V-DO S-V-IO-DO S-V-DO-AC S-V-DO-OC THERE ARE SEVEN BASIC SENTENCE PATTERNS.

S-V S-V-AC S-V-SC S-V-DO S-V-IO-DO S-V-DO-AC S-V-DO-OC THERE ARE SEVEN BASIC SENTENCE PATTERNS. SENTENCE PATTERNS S-V S-V-AC S-V-SC S-V-DO S-V-IO-DO S-V-DO-AC S-V-DO-OC THERE ARE SEVEN BASIC SENTENCE PATTERNS. S-V Subject-Verb Consists of a noun, pronoun, or other nominal as the subject of the sentence

More information

_GCPS_04_ELA_All_Domains (_GCPS_04_ELA_All_Domains)

_GCPS_04_ELA_All_Domains (_GCPS_04_ELA_All_Domains) Name: Date: 1. Which sentence should be removed from the paragraph? 1 We had a surprise party for Aunt Mary's birthday. 2 We decorated her house with balloons and signs. 3 Mom made a big birthday cake

More information

Lesson 75: Technology (20-25 minutes)

Lesson 75: Technology (20-25 minutes) Main Topic 14: Technical Areas Lesson 75: Technology (20-25 minutes) Today, you will: 1. Learn useful vocabulary related to TECHNOLOGY. 2. Review of Relative Clause: Repeated Subject. I. VOCABULARY Exercise

More information

Comma Splices and Fused Sentences

Comma Splices and Fused Sentences San José State University Writing Center www.sjsu.edu/writingcenter Written by Crystle Bruno Revised by Cindy Baer Comma Splices and Fused Sentences Comma splices and fused sentences are common punctuation

More information

Sentences. A sentence is a group of words that tells a complete thought. A sentence always tells who or what

Sentences. A sentence is a group of words that tells a complete thought. A sentence always tells who or what SENTENCES Sentences A sentence is a group of words that tells a complete thought. A sentence always tells who or what and what is or what happens. SENTENCES Sentence I like to play with dogs. The smart

More information

Lesson 30: Presenting a Report (20-25 minutes)

Lesson 30: Presenting a Report (20-25 minutes) Main Topic 4: Business Presentations Lesson 30: Presenting a Report (20-25 minutes) Today, you will: 1. Learn useful vocabulary related to PRESENTING A REPORT. 2. Use of As - As. I. VOCABULARY Exercise

More information

My interests. Vocabulary. Free-time activities. Let s go to the new pizza place. Good idea! I m really hungry. What are you drawing?

My interests. Vocabulary. Free-time activities. Let s go to the new pizza place. Good idea! I m really hungry. What are you drawing? 8 1 My interests Vocabulary Free-time activities 1 Look at the pictures and complete the words with vowels and the letter y c h a t o n l i n e 2 p l y t n n s 4 g t t h g m 6 p l y n n s t r m n t 1 r

More information

SIJBJECTS AND PREI)ICATES

SIJBJECTS AND PREI)ICATES Unit 2- Parts of a Sentence SIJBJECTS AND PREI)ICATES Subject- the word or words that tell who or what the sentence is about Simple Subject- the one or two key words in the subject. Complete Subject- the

More information

Paper Evaluation Sheet David Dolata, Ph.D.

Paper Evaluation Sheet David Dolata, Ph.D. 1 NAME Content Not enough of your own work the most serious flaw Inaccurate statements Contradictory statements Poor or incomplete understanding of material Needs more focus; topic is too broad Clarification

More information

Unidad III: Lengua Adicional al Español (Inglés) IV. Tema 2: Relatives Clauses. Describing objects, places, people and activities. U n i d a d I I I :

Unidad III: Lengua Adicional al Español (Inglés) IV. Tema 2: Relatives Clauses. Describing objects, places, people and activities. U n i d a d I I I : U n i d a d I I I : Unidad III: Describing objects, places, people and activities. Lengua Adicional al Español (Inglés) IV Tema 2: Relatives Clauses Relatives Clauses Limericks are humour poems. They begin

More information

What s New in the 17th Edition

What s New in the 17th Edition What s in the 17th Edition The following is a partial list of the more significant changes, clarifications, updates, and additions to The Chicago Manual of Style for the 17th edition. Part I: The Publishing

More information

Johnny Appleseed by Steven Kellogg Vocabulary Practice and Craftivity. Created by Gay Miller

Johnny Appleseed by Steven Kellogg Vocabulary Practice and Craftivity. Created by Gay Miller Johnny Appleseed by Steven Kellogg Vocabulary Practice and Craftivity Created by Gay Miller decade (noun) ten years; period, era, time, span Within a decade their little house was overflowing with ten

More information

Linking words. Grammar-Vocabulary WORKBOOK. A complementary resource to your online TELL ME MORE Training Learning Language: English

Linking words. Grammar-Vocabulary WORKBOOK. A complementary resource to your online TELL ME MORE Training Learning Language: English Speaking Listening Writing Reading Grammar Vocabulary Grammar-Vocabulary WORKBOOK A complementary resource to your online TELL ME MORE Training Learning Language: English Linking words B1 Forward What

More information

Scholastic Aptitude Test: Writing. test basics and testing strategies

Scholastic Aptitude Test: Writing. test basics and testing strategies Scholastic Aptitude Test: Writing test basics and testing strategies SAT Writing questions essay improving sentences improving paragraphs identifying sentence errors sections 1 section of essay 25 minutes

More information

American Psychological Association (APA) Formatting Guide

American Psychological Association (APA) Formatting Guide American Psychological Association (APA) Formatting Guide A Guide For: General Formatting In-Text Citations References Jackson Christian School Updated-- Fall 2006 2 1. General Format APA (American Psychological

More information

Clauses, Conjunctions, and Sentence Structures. 7 th Grade Grammar

Clauses, Conjunctions, and Sentence Structures. 7 th Grade Grammar Clauses, Conjunctions, and Sentence Structures 7 th Grade Grammar Conjunctions Conjunctions You are going to watch a video about the different types of conjunctions. Coordinating Correlative Subordinating

More information

Grammar Reteaching Prepositional Phrases

Grammar Reteaching Prepositional Phrases 12.1 Prepositional Phrases A prepositional phrase is a group of words that begins with a preposition and usually ends with a noun or a pronoun (the object of the preposition). This exercise provides a

More information

MODIFICATION NOUN MODIFIERS

MODIFICATION NOUN MODIFIERS MODIFICATION NOUN MODIFIERS 1 A modifier in linguistics is a word (adjective, adverb, noun) or a phrase that specifies the meaning of another word or phrase by giving more details and information about

More information

Complex Sentence. with an adverbial clause. Writing 1 Sari Hidayati, M.A

Complex Sentence. with an adverbial clause. Writing 1 Sari Hidayati, M.A Complex Sentence with an adverbial clause Writing 1 Sari Hidayati, M.A sari_hid@yahoo.com/ sari_hidayati@uny.ac.id A complex sentence : A sentence that consists of independent clause (main clause) and

More information

1 English Short Stories for Beginners,

1 English Short Stories for Beginners, 1 English Short Stories for Beginners, www.really-learn-english.com Copyright 2011 2016 www.really-learn-english.com Thanks for downloading the English Short Stories booklet. It includes the first 2 chapters

More information

In the texts 1 How many texts are there on pages 76 77? 2 a What text type is The Friday Quiz? Why do you think so?

In the texts 1 How many texts are there on pages 76 77? 2 a What text type is The Friday Quiz? Why do you think so? 76 7 In the texts 1 How many texts are there on pages 76? 2 a What text type is The Friday Quiz? Why do you think so? b On the text of The Friday Quiz the part that introduces the time, place and people.

More information

English Short Stories Emma & Jerry, Volume 1 By Ola Zur. store.really-learn-english.com

English Short Stories Emma & Jerry, Volume 1 By Ola Zur.  store.really-learn-english.com English Short Stories Emma & Jerry, Volume 1 By Ola Zur www.really-learn-english.com store.really-learn-english.com Copyright 2011 Ola Zur. All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced or

More information

EDITING STANDARDS TUSCARORA HIGH SCHOOL The following are practical standards which students are expected to meet in all revised writing:

EDITING STANDARDS TUSCARORA HIGH SCHOOL The following are practical standards which students are expected to meet in all revised writing: EDITING STANDARDS TUSCARORA HIGH SCHOOL The following are practical standards which students are expected to meet in all revised writing: Sentence Structure 1. Avoid sentence fragments. Example: Running

More information

Reading 1: Novel Excerpt Prepare to Read... 4 Vocabulary: Literary Terms, Academic Words, Word Study Reading Strategy: Predict

Reading 1: Novel Excerpt Prepare to Read... 4 Vocabulary: Literary Terms, Academic Words, Word Study Reading Strategy: Predict UNIT 1 Contents How does the natural world affect us?...2 Reading 1: Novel Excerpt Prepare to Read... 4 Reading Strategy: Predict from Project Mulberry by Linda Sue Park...8 Practice... 12 Listening and

More information

Fragments, Run-ons and Comma Splices

Fragments, Run-ons and Comma Splices Fragments, Run-ons and Comma Splices Can you make sense of the following paragraph? Our teacher is pregnant and her last day of work is on Friday she is really going to miss us. Because she loves teaching

More information

attracted fabric honest soared dazzling greed requested trudged

attracted fabric honest soared dazzling greed requested trudged Vocabulary attracted fabric honest soared dazzling greed requested trudged Use the context clues in each sentence to help you decide which vocabulary word fits best in the blank. Flying high in the air,

More information

INDEX. A, vs. an, Abbreviations, on AIM, 30 Absolute phrases, 248 Academic journal readers, as audience,

INDEX. A, vs. an, Abbreviations, on AIM, 30 Absolute phrases, 248 Academic journal readers, as audience, INDEX A A, vs. an, 232 233 Abbreviations, 275 276 on AIM, 30 Absolute phrases, 248 Academic journal readers, as audience, 51 Academic Search Premier, 107 Academic writing, 3 Accept/except, 278 Action verbs,

More information

PRE-ADOLESCENTS 1 WEB SAMPLE 2015 NEW TASKS & MARKING SCHEME

PRE-ADOLESCENTS 1 WEB SAMPLE 2015 NEW TASKS & MARKING SCHEME ASOCIACIÓN EX ALUMNOS DEL PROFESORADO EN LENGUAS VIVAS JUAN RAMÓN FERNÁNDEZ PRE-ADOLESCENTS 1 NEW TASKS & MARKING SCHEME A B C D E F Total A) Read the text and answer the questions below. (25) The life

More information

(1 point) (1 point) 4. Decide whether the sentence below contains a misplaced and/or dangling modifier or no error. (1 point)

(1 point) (1 point) 4. Decide whether the sentence below contains a misplaced and/or dangling modifier or no error. (1 point) Voices of Modernism (1920s 1940s) Unit Test Frank Gjurashaj is taking this assessment. Multiple Choice 1. A(n) is a verb form that ends in -ing or -ed. participle adjective pronoun adverb 2. Identify the

More information

Adverbs of frequency. LEVEL NUMBER LANGUAGE Beginner A2_2063G_EN English

Adverbs of frequency. LEVEL NUMBER LANGUAGE Beginner A2_2063G_EN English Adverbs of frequency GRAMMAR LEVEL NUMBER LANGUAGE Beginner A2_2063G_EN English Goals Learn about adverbs of frequency. Practice talking about your routine with adverbs of frequency. 2 How often do you

More information

Feel free to write to me if you have any questions or problems.

Feel free to write to me if you have any questions or problems. GUIDELINES FOR PRACTICE SENTENCES You may want to mark the functions with your keyboard and mouse, but of course you can print the whole file and use colored markers (or devise your own marking system).

More information

Our puppy Jack is a great big dog, When it comes to food, he s quite a hog!

Our puppy Jack is a great big dog, When it comes to food, he s quite a hog! Lesson 96: Poetry: Couplets A couplet is a simple rhyming poem consisting of only two lines, or of multiple rhyming stanzas consisting of two lines each. Think of a couple, which means two, and you will

More information

A Sample Lesson from The Tan Teacher Book

A Sample Lesson from The Tan Teacher Book A Sample Lesson from The Tan Teacher Book Lesson 5 Little House in the Big Woods Teacher's Note: As your student completes each lesson, choose skills from the Review Activities that he needs. The Review

More information

A comma is. a useful punctuation device that separates elements of a sentence into manageable segments.

A comma is. a useful punctuation device that separates elements of a sentence into manageable segments. COMMA USAGE A comma is a useful punctuation device that separates elements of a sentence into manageable segments. Commas are used: To set off introductory clauses, phrases, or words that come before the

More information

COMMONLY MISUSED AND PROBLEM WORDS AND EXPRESSIONS

COMMONLY MISUSED AND PROBLEM WORDS AND EXPRESSIONS COMMONLY MISUSED AND PROBLEM WORDS AND EXPRESSIONS After. Following After is the more precise word if a time sequence is involved: We went home after the meal. Allow Use allows one to instead of allows

More information

Seth AnandramJaipuria School Vasundhara, Ghaziabad Session English Olympiad Practice Worksheet Class 2

Seth AnandramJaipuria School Vasundhara, Ghaziabad Session English Olympiad Practice Worksheet Class 2 Seth AnandramJaipuria School Vasundhara, Ghaziabad Session 2017-18 English Olympiad Practice Worksheet Class 2 A. Read the given passage and answer the questions following: SLEEPY KOALAS Koalas live on

More information

The Adventures of Ali Baba Bernstein

The Adventures of Ali Baba Bernstein The Adventures of Ali Baba Bernstein Use this selection to answer questions 1 10. 1 Why does David Bernstein change his name to Ali Baba Bernstein? A He is tired of having the same name as so many other

More information

Lesson 84: Station and Airport Announcements (20-25 minutes)

Lesson 84: Station and Airport Announcements (20-25 minutes) Main Topic 15: Travel Lesson 84: Station and Airport Announcements (20-25 minutes) Today, you will: 1. Learn useful vocabulary related to STATION AND AIRPORT ANNOUNCEMENTS. 2. Review Participial Phrases.

More information

Metonymy in Grammar: Word-formation. Laura A. Janda Universitetet i Tromsø

Metonymy in Grammar: Word-formation. Laura A. Janda Universitetet i Tromsø Metonymy in Grammar: Word-formation Laura A. Janda Universitetet i Tromsø Main Idea Role of metonymy in grammar Metonymy as the main motivating force for word-formation Metonymy is more diverse in grammar

More information

Subjects & Predicates. Project LA Activity

Subjects & Predicates. Project LA Activity Subjects & Predicates Project LA Activity Every complete sentence contains two parts: a subject and a predicate. The subject is what (or whom) the sentence is about, while the predicate tells something

More information

Intermediate three I 3. Additional Grammar. Made for you in order to help you to understand grammar in intermediate three.

Intermediate three I 3. Additional Grammar. Made for you in order to help you to understand grammar in intermediate three. Intermediate three Additional Grammar Made for you in order to help you to understand grammar in intermediate three I 3 INFOP Virtual UNIT 1 Modals Should Have / Could Have Past Forms 4 UNIT 2 Conditionals

More information

The verbal group B2. Grammar-Vocabulary WORKBOOK. A complementary resource to your online TELL ME MORE Training Learning Language: English

The verbal group B2. Grammar-Vocabulary WORKBOOK. A complementary resource to your online TELL ME MORE Training Learning Language: English Speaking Listening Writing Reading Grammar Vocabulary Grammar-Vocabulary WORKBOOK A complementary resource to your online TELL ME MORE Training Learning Language: English The verbal group B2 Forward What

More information

NorthStar. Introductory Focus on Reading and Writing:

NorthStar. Introductory Focus on Reading and Writing: NorthStar Introductory Focus on Reading and Writing:. English Language g Institute (ELI) External Student Course (ELCA 101) 1. Course Code: ELCA 101 Course No.:101 Prerequisite: None Credit Hours: 3 2.

More information

Grade 4 Overview texts texts texts fiction nonfiction drama texts text graphic features text audiences revise edit voice Standard American English

Grade 4 Overview texts texts texts fiction nonfiction drama texts text graphic features text audiences revise edit voice Standard American English Overview In the fourth grade, students continue using the reading skills they have acquired in the earlier grades to comprehend more challenging They read a variety of informational texts as well as four

More information

EP Language Arts 4 Printables

EP Language Arts 4 Printables EP Language Arts 4 Printables This book belongs to: This book was made for your convenience. It is available for printing from the Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool website. It contains all of the printables

More information

Alice in Wonderland. Great Illustrated Classics Reading Comprehension Worksheets. Sample file

Alice in Wonderland. Great Illustrated Classics Reading Comprehension Worksheets. Sample file Alice in Wonderland Great Illustrated Classics s Alice follows a rabbit into a rabbit hole and goes on to the oddest adventures a little girl has ever had. Meet some of the most unusual and whimsical characters

More information

Lesson 66: Electric and Gas Services

Lesson 66: Electric and Gas Services Main Topic 11: Housing/Corporate Policy Lesson 66: Electric and Gas Services (20-25 minutes) Today, you will: 1. Learn useful vocabulary related to ELECTRIC AND GAS SERVICES. 2. Review Types of Pronouns

More information

Directions: Choose the answer choice of the subject or verb, as needed.

Directions: Choose the answer choice of the subject or verb, as needed. A Quick Review of Subjects and Verbs The subject of a sentence is the person, place, thing, or idea that the sentence is about. It is always a noun or pronoun. The verb tells what the sentence is saying

More information

Vocabulary Look at the words written in boldface in the Dialogue Box. Guess their meanings by how they are used in the sentences.

Vocabulary Look at the words written in boldface in the Dialogue Box. Guess their meanings by how they are used in the sentences. LESSSON C1 Passing on Information Informally I. WARM-UP Vocabulary Look at the words written in boldface in the Dialogue Box. Guess their meanings by how they are used in the sentences. II. DIALOGUE BOX

More information

I ll never forget the day when Prince William and Kate Middleton married. Target Language

I ll never forget the day when Prince William and Kate Middleton married. Target Language Twenty-one I ll never forget the day when Prince William and Kate Middleton married. Target Language Do you remember the day when we first met? Ann s mother isn t home yet, which worries her. Show me what

More information